Weddings | Mount Airy News

With winter sports over, The news recognizes local student-athletes who have received all-conference honors for their respective sports.

East Surry, North Surry and Surry Central all participate in the Foothills 2A (FH2A) conference, Millennium Charter Academy participates in the Northwest Piedmont 1A (NWPC) conference and Mount Airy participates in the Northwest 1A (NW1A) conference.

Any athlete who has won All Conference honors in multiple events will have the number of events following their name.

Girls All-Conference

East Surry – Faith Braithwaite (2), Ember Midkiff, Madeline Dayton (2), Clara Willard

Millennium Charter – Savannah Allen (3), Ava Hiatt (1), Ruby Hoerter (4), Clara Minix (2), Ava Utt (3)

Mount Airy – Ella Brant, Gracie Butcher (2), Kylie James, Audrey Marion (2), Carrie Marion (2), Lily Morris, Kancie Tate, Greer Tidd

North Surry – Isabel Delfin (2), Bella Aparicio (2), Ella Riggs (2), Carly Puckett, Sarah Sutphin, Ashley Jackson, Erin Moore, Anna Escobar

Surry Central – Lanie Fitzgerald (4), Lillian Orozio (2), Rubi Cortes-Rosas (4), Abigail Hernandez (2), Andrea Gonzalez (3), Ella Priddy (2), Wendy Cantor (2), Claire Marion

Girls Season Summary

The East Surry girls finished second in the FH2A team standings.

Dayton won the conference title in the long jump, while finishing second in the triple jump. Braithwaite earned two second places in the 55 and 300 metres, Midkiff won silver in the high jump and Willard was second in the shot put.

Millennium finished second in the NWPC Tag Team Rankings. Utt won the conference title in the high jump, then finished fourth in the event at the 1A/2A State Championship meet.

Utt, Hoerter, Allen and Minix were named All-Conference as the relay team in the 4×400 and 4×800 relays. The Lions won gold in the 4×400 and silver in the 4×800 . Hoerter was also named All-Conference after finishing second in the 1,600 and 3,200 meters, while Hiatt and Allen took first and second place in the shot put.

The Mount Airy Girls won the NW1A Tag Team Championship and Coach Ron Snow was named NW1A Coach of the Year.

Butcher set conference records in the long jump and triple jump, and competed in both 1A/2A state championship events. She finished ninth in the long jump and 10th in the women’s triple jump at the state championship.

Brant, Tate, Audrey and Carrie Marion earned all-conference honors as the Bears’ 4×200 relay team. Individually: Carrie Marion won the 55 hurdles, Morris won the high jump, Audrey Marion was second in the high jump, Tidd was second in the long jump and James won silver in the shot put.

The Lady Greyhounds finished fifth in the tag team competition. The team won three individual gold medals: Aparicio won the 55 meters, Delfin won the 500 meters, and Riggs won the shot put. Aparicio and Riggs qualified for the state championship and finished fourth in their respective events.

Delfin, Sutphin, Puckett and Aparicio made up the 4×200 relay team that finished second, and the 4×400 team of Jackson, Moore, Escobar and Riggs also won a silver medal.

The Surry Central girls won the FH2A Conference Championship and Fitzgerald was named the Female Athlete of the Championship competition. Individually, two Eagles have won conference titles: Cortes-Rosas finished first in the 1,000 meters and Fitzgerald won the 1,600 and 3,200 meters.

Three relay teams also won conference championship gold: Priddy, Cantor, Orozio and Marion in 4×200; Priddy, Cantor, Cortes-Rosas and Gonzalez in the 4×400, and Fitzgerald, Hernandez, Gonzalez and Cortes-Rosas in the 4×800. All three relay teams qualified for the state championship and had the following finishes: the 4×400 team finished fifth, the 4×800 team took sixth place, and the 4×200 team took finished eighth.

Five girls from Surry Central finished second in their respective events: Gonzalez in the 500 metres, Hernandez in the 1600 metres, Cortes-Rosas in the 3200 metres, Orozio in the 55 hurdles and Fitzgerald in the pole vault.

Boys All-Conference

East Surry – Sam Whitt, Gabriel Harp, Matthew Keener, Isaiah Arrington, Cooper Motsinger (2), Tristan Hernandez, Layton Allen (4), Lindann Fleming, Brett Clayton (2), Kyle Zinn

Millennium Charter – Calvin Devore (3), Hartley Devore (2), Ford Holmes, Brody Krackenberg, Nick Johnson, Diego Gomez

Mount Airy – Blake Hawks (2), Mason Hill, Steven Johnson, Caden Ratcliff (2),

North Surry – Talan Vernon (2), Jared Hiatt (4), Chuck Powers, Jake Simmons, Derek Vannieuwkoop (2), Alejando Guerrero-Rodriguez, Owen McMillian, Jair Gonzalez

Surry Central – Charlie Hernandez, Ignacio Morales (4), Chris Nava, Sebastian Sanchez, Brangly Mazariegos, Luke Creed

Boys Season Summary

East Surry won the FH2A Team Championship and had eight All-Conference named athletes.

The Cardinals 4×200 team of Allen, Fleming, Clayton and Zinn won gold, as did the 4×400 team of Allen, Clayton, Arrington and Keener. Allen added two individual silvers in the 55 and 300 meters, and Motsinger did so in the 1,600 and 3,200 meters. Harp and Parker were second in the high jump, Hernandez was second in the 55 hurdles and Whitt was second in the shot put.

The Millennials finished second as a team in the NWPC Championship. Calvin Devore won the conference title in the 1,000 meters, then finished ninth in the event at the 1A/2A State Championship.

The Lions 4×800 team of Holmes, Krackenberg, Calvin Devore and Hartley Devore won conference championship gold, and the Devore, Johnson and Gomez team finished second in the 4×400 relay.

The Mount Airy boys finished third in the NW1A team standings at the conference championship. Hawks and Ratcliff each set new NW1A records for the boys.

Hawks’ best performance came in the triple jump, and he also won the conference title in the long jump with a jump of 19 to 05.00 feet. He competed in both state championship events, finishing third in the triple jump and fourth in the long jump.

Ratcliff’s record performance came in the 1,000 meters and then he added a second-place finish in the 3,200 meters. Hill and Johnson finished first and second in the shot put.

North Surry’s Jared Hiatt was named FH2A Male Athlete of the Championship Meet with four All-Conference performances. Hiatt won gold in the long jump, triple jump and high jump, while winning silver in the 4×400 relay with Vernon, Powers and Simmons. Hiatt qualified for the 1A/2A State Championship in all three show jumping events. He went on to win the state long jump championship, finish third in the high jump, and fifth in the triple jump.

Vernon won the Hounds’ other conference championship in the 55 yards, while Vannieuwkoop was second in the triple jump. In addition to North Surry’s 4×400 silver medal, the 4×200 team of Guerrero-Rodriguez, McMillian, Gonzalez and Vannieuwkoop finished second.

The boys from Surry Central finished second in the team competition. Morales won three conference championship gold medals in the 1,000, 1,600 and 3,200 meters. He went to the state championship in the 3200 meters and finished seventh.

Hernandez added an individual conference title for the Golden Eagle Boys by winning the 500 meters, and Creed took second place in the pole vault. The 4×800 relay team of Morales, Nava, Sanchez and Mazariegos finished second.